Educating future leaders

What We Do

Working hard at LEAP Schools

We currently have six LEAP Science and Maths Schools that provide a high quality education to students from grades 8 to 12. They are based in the Western Cape (2 schools), Gauteng (3 schools) and Limpopo (1 school). Our learners are sourced from township-based feeder schools. They do not pay school fees and cannot voluntarily choose to come to LEAP, but are selected for enrolment because they display a potential to learn and a willingness to work hard towards success in education, future employment and life.

While we offer a full subject curriculum, we do emphasise excellence in mathematics, science and English – as we believe these subjects are critical in enabling learners to craft successful futures. Through education we hope to give young South Africans the academic and life skills they need to become future leaders. Our schools enrol learners from the following areas:

  • LEAP 1 Langa

Established in January 2004, LEAP 1 is based at our campus in Pinelands and serves learners from the community of Langa on the Cape Flats. The first and oldest of our schools, it currently has 177 students who are taught in English and isiXhosa. LEAP 1 has a strong partnership with prestigious Cape Town school, Bishops, and is highly active in the community, with a number of student projects supporting the people – young and old – of Langa.

  • LEAP 2 Gugulethu & Crossroads

Serving learners from the townships of Gugulethu and Crossroads outside Cape Town, LEAP 2 has 180 students who are taught in English and isiXhosa. The school occupies the floor above LEAP 1 in Pinelands. Established in 2007, LEAP 2 has a diverse and active student body and partners with Herzlia United Schools. The school opened a satellite Grade 9 class serving students living in Delft in 2013.

  • LEAP 3 Alexandra

Serving Johannesburg’s historic Alexandra township, LEAP 3 in Linbro Park has 156 students who are taught in English, isiZulu, Sepedi and Sesotho. It opened in 2008 and the school has achieved extraordinary results in the Grade 12 exams. Set on the rambling grounds of a large family home, LEAP 3’s campus has a distinctly homely feel. Redhill High School in Sandton is LEAP 3’s partner school, providing science lab facilities and cultural exchanges.

  • LEAP 4 Diepsloot

LEAP 4 brings the LEAP model to Diepsloot,a sprawling new township just outside Johannesburg. The 144 students are a mix of many cultures, predominantly Sepedi. The school offers isiZulu and Sepedi as home languages, along with English. Based in a converted warehouse in Diepsloot, the school faces the infrastructure challenges so prevalent in informal communities. Nearby Dainfern College is LEAP 4’s privileged school partner. The Aveng Group, already a committed LEAP partner, is the founding supporter of LEAP 4.

  • LEAP 5 Jane Furse

A LEAP school serving the community of Jane Furse in the remote Sekhukhune district of Limpopo opened its doors in 2012. The school, located in one of the worst performing provinces in the National Senior Certificate (NSC) examinations in recent years, will focus on equipping its 80 students with the academic and life skills they need to be able to continue their studies and pursue fulfilling careers.

  • LEAP 6 GaRankuwa

LEAP identified GaRankuwa near Pretoria as the location for the sixth LEAP School after being requested to look into the area by the Anglican Diocese of Pretoria. The Diocese was concerned by the community’s poor educational results and high unemployment rate, particularly among young people. The school opened in 2012 and currently has 71 students, including LEAP’s first Grade 8 class.



Values - Everyone at LEAP commits to:

  • Being kind, honest and healthy
  • Being punctual and looking good
  • Working hard and never giving up
  • Admitting and learning from mistakes
  • Confronting issues and being open to change
  • Working together and sharing